Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Preparing to order 480ex
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 4:51 pm 
I'm a newb and having been spinning like a dervish trying to select a folder. The pointer stopped on the Fujita. Mike, who runs Fujita NA out of his crib is preparing me for the sticker shock (paddles, PFD, ect).

Looks like I'll have to bite the bullet and buy float bags from FeatherCraft, since these seem to be the best off-the-shelf option. Seems like a bad option to go cheap on. Need a dry bag for day trips, big enough to hold jacket, pants, shoes, grub... 15 liters big enough? Anyone suggest a particular brand?

I intend to get my 5'6", 150 body used to the new ride in local Ohio flat water lakes. But there's plaenty of opportunity for growth as I'm only around 50 miles from treacherous Lake Erie (not a place for a newb). Paddling should be fine into November around here.

Past paddling experience has been limited to rental Kayaks on the Cuyahoga River and one extended wilderness trip in the Yukon/Alaska region, which I loved.

Anyhow, this site has been extremely valuable in helping me to sort things out. Will probably pester you all with mucho question.

Post subject: Bags
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:12 pm 
Are you going to try the boat out first, with the Fujitana demo program?

These guys seem to liquidating their line of drybags -
http://www.seairsports.com/specials.htm

Dunno anything about their quality, but some of their prices appear o.k. Local Walmart in my area's carrying an el-cheapo brand of drybag for about $12.00 as a seasonal "camping" item.

C.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:43 pm