Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:01 pm 
recent arrival

Hi Folks,
I am new to kayaking and wanting to buy my first boat. Since I live in a small condo, storage space is an issue so an inflatable or foldable kayak seems like the proper choice. I am also interested in packrafting...paddling and peddling with a bike. After doing some research I see that packrafts and kayaks seem at least to be two different animals. Packrafts seem mostly designed for whitewater, and are not great on flat water, handle poorly in the wind and in tracking. Is this correct?

Where I see myself boating the most, at least for now, is doing solo trips and overnighters on rivers here in middle Georgia...calmer sections with lower class rapids (I and II). So, I'd like to be able to carry some gear in the boat, if possible strap the packed boat on a bike and maybe the bike onto the boat. I've been looking at the Innova Sunny, Safari and Helios and NRS Aire Lynx I and II.

I'd like to have the option of self bailing or closed floor for winter trips, adjustable seat and foot peddles and good tracking. I'd greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions about this.

Atticus

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:12 pm 
recent arrival