Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:40 pm 
Hello all! Im new to kayaking and in need of my first kayak. I live on long island and want to start fishing locally. Next to me is the North and South shore, (long island sound, and the bay areas). Bellow I will list as many specifics as possible to help describe what im after.

Kayak: foldable/ inflatable 2 person.

price range:$700-$2000

Construction: I have heard that fiberglass is recommended for the north shore, but that doesnt come portable.

location: close to shore waters. The long island sound can get rough. But I wont be doing any long touring middle of the ocean stuff obviously.

Uses: fishing primarily, I dont have a ton of equipment thou.

passenger weight: total 300 lbs

What im looking for: I know my price range is limited, but I dont want to be underclassed to much by hard shell boats. I want something that is efficient and can get up to speed. Most importantly that it can handle the north and south shores and can be assembled quickly. The only kayak I came across so far is the pakboat puffin saranac. Will an inflatable hybrid like this be that much different from the real thing?

Thank you.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 7:19 pm 
Site Admin

Given your budget, you should probably be looking at the Folbot Edisto, Yukoin, and Aleut, among others.All three are beamy, stable, and just under your budget. You might also consider a used double kayak.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:09 am 
recent arrival

The Small Boat Shop in Norwalk, CT, carries both Feathercraft and Klepper, has instructional classes, is right on a wharf on the inlet so you can test paddle right there and also has a huge number of used boats that they sell for owners. Nice people and very informative -- worth a train ride to Norwalk for a few hours some nice day.