Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:16 pm 
Hi, though I am a novice in forums, I think this one is a great and helpful one. I entered it two days ago and continue reading with great interest; it is like getting private lessons from professionals!

I am now retired and plan to invest time, which I was lacking till now, to kayaking and other sports activities. I have kayaked on and off on Mediterranean (Israel) , but consider myself as having only basic skills and moderate to low fitness and hope that both will improve with time and with the accumulated paddling experience. Because of time flexibility reasons most of time I plan to paddle alone (not in a group) therefore the paddling locations and conditions will not be very challenging to minimize risk. It may change in the future along with the accumulated experience, hopefully.

I spend some months during the summer in Switzerland, and plan at the beginning to make some short daily trips (1-3 days) with a car to different lakes in Switzerland and other neighboring countries and to paddle there. Some of the locations will be reached by train or plain. I also want to sea paddle on a Mediterranean. (The transportation flexibility, and storage considerations are the main reasons for considering a foldable kayak).
The paddling will include either my grandchildren (15 and 10 years old) or my wife ( she is not a paddler) so in some cases I will paddle solo or in tandem with or without second paddler assistance.(This is the reason for considering tandem kayak). My weight is 85 kg (187 lb) my height is 171 cm (5' 7").