Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:38 pm 
Hi,
I am new to kayaking although I have canoed all my life. I recently started looking for a folding or inflatable kayak. I live very near a river, but I don't have any boats of my own, nor do I drive. I need something light enough to carry just a mile or two to the river. I have narrowed my choices down to a Citibot or Oru, or (on the inflatable side) an Innova Sunny. I wouldn't be traveling on anything trechorous, just calm rivers for a few hours at a time on nice weekends, with maybe a little fishing thrown in. My main concerns are setup/deconstruction time, stability, and durability. Any thoughts on which of these boats might serve me better? I am particularly drawn to the Oru, but I haven't been able to find out how it compares to more traditional folding or inflatable kayaks in the same price range.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:46 pm 
Site Admin

I haven't handled an Oru yet, but based on description and materials i would consider it to be the least rugged of the boats. It's light, yes, but lacks secondary flotation chambers, can't easily be repaired, and an impact that a Citiboat or Sunny would bounce off will probably dent it. It's novel for its simplicity and lightness, but the other two should long outlast it.

Between the Innova and the Folbot, the Sunny will be easier to assemble (just inflate) and have greater capacity, but the Citiboat, being smaller, lighter, and stiffer, will have better performance and be easier to carry. The Citi will be much easier to handle in stiff winds. The Sunny will be able to carry more weight, and might be easier to fish from. I've only owned one inflatable, a quality one-person inflatable cataract around 12' long. I enjoyed the stability for fishing but in the end much preferred kayaks for their ease of paddling.