Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:48 pm 
recent arrival

I'm new to kayaking, so I'll lay out what I'm looking for and see if such a kayak exists. I'm looking for a light folding or inflatable kayak that will fit in my apartment, but that also has storage in the hull so I can carry a camping backpack for trips. Does such a thing exist? Most of the folding and inflatables I've seen just look like they have, if anything, a little cargo net on top which wouldn't work. I can't tell from looking at the pictures if there's enough room in the leg space to hold a backpack. Where do people store their gear in these things?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:17 pm 
Site Admin

Most of us use dry bags rather than packs, and there's plenty of room below deck in most boats to stash a great many large dry bags. You can get bags with shoulder straps that are good for short hauls.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:15 pm 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle

Mike is right.

I'm a hiker first, boater second. These boats have 400-900 lbs of capacity, and you could fit an internal-frame pack (or two) in any of them.

If you want to be able to carry the boat in the backpack, also (not just the pack in the boat), you would have to get a Packraft or the new Packraft competitor being made by Feathercraft.

Non-folding: '84 Hobie 16; early '90s Old Town Canoe.
Previously owned '04 Pakboat Puffin II and '05 Swift.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:38 pm 

saltyd wrote: