Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:14 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:17 pm 
Hi there. I will be looking at a 17' 2 seater Aerius in a couple days and wanted some feedback from experienced users. I believe the boat is from 1970 or 74. I will generally be using it for myself and sometimes my dog ( 45 lbs) and or occasionally my partner. I will be paddling in calm water, river or small lakes ( at least at this point as I'm a novice paddler & admittingly on the cautious side). All of my experience is with hard shell recreational kayaks but I want something lighter and more portable. Also, the person who currently owns it I don't believe has stored it disassembled" and I've read one should not do this. (I.e. It should be stored disassembled). Does anyone know the approx weight of the kayak & if I could manage to put it atop my car on my own? Any feedback is appreciated. The kayak looks in very good condition from pics I've seen but haven't had a chance to examine it in person. Also,how difficult would it be to get parts etc for this Aerius as I reside I in Canada (about 1.5 hrs north east of Toronto). Also how durable is the bottom ie paddling thru weedy rivers and sandy or rocky shorelines. I can be rough on my hardshell kayak as the material is super durable.
Thanks so much for any feedback you can provide!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:08 am 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle