Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Just bought a K1
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:20 am 
recent arrival

Hi,

I've been paddling hardshells since 1995, but I always thought a foldable would extend my travel range beyond North America. I recall reading with interest about the Feathercrafts in the usenet paddling newsgroup. I later learned they had closed shop when their rudder became unavailable, but I recently bought a '94 K1 in excellent shape and I may now need some advice and tricks.

Regards,

--
Luc Le Blanc
Montreal, Canada

Post subject: Re: Just bought a K1
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 12:29 pm 
lord high faltbotmeister

I just responded to your question about an airline bag for the K-1. So now I know that your boat is the older model, as my 1998 K-1 was.

The most important "trick" is to ALWAYS keep the frame joints lubricated -- my preference is to use Boeshield T-9 lubricant which you can get at most good bicycle shops in a small dropper bottle. If not lubricated and left assembled with salt water in the boat (and even some freshwater) the joints will freeze together and be impossible to break down. I bought mine used from a guy who had let that happen and had to pay $200 for new frame parts to replace the frozen ones. I keep a zip lock baggie with the T-9 and a couple of rags in the patch kit that I always carry with my folders and liberally grease each joint whenever I put one together. If your boat did not come with a patch kit, I would recommend getting one. Pakboat sells them, with vinyl adhesive and scraps of patch fabric that will work on other models of boats as well as their own.