Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:29 am 
lord high faltbotmeister

Ask a Bostonian what is the quickest way to drive to the airport or a Chicagoan what is the best deep dish pizza and you will start lively debate that may result in injury. Same with outriggers, maybe, but I'll take that risk.

I am the happy owner of a cool, as new, circa 1990's A1 Expedition, thanks to the help of D. Lee "the mad kayak tinkerer" on this board. I swapped my Big Kahuna for this single because my old knees were no longer capable of contorting into the Feathercraft's smallish cockpit and the Klepper lets me in without any drama.

I am looking forward to sailing this Klepper with both the Kayaksailer and S2 rigs, but I really do want the safety of outriggers. I have no experience with these and would really appreciate some advice. I sail in almost all conditions, from calm, protected lakes to slow moving river trails (Chattahoochee and Everglades), to open water in the Atlantic under the power of the Trade Winds. I have always felt comfortable in my A2 Quattro without outriggers, but the A1 is a different story. I do not want to swim.

Specs? I don't even know what to ask, except that I will not likely overnight with this rig, I don't need the capability to deploy/stow underway, and I want something that will not plow even under big winds and seas.

Any thoughts would be welcomed.

Best,
g

1990's A1 Expedition
2010 Klepper Quattro
Kayaksailer
Balogh sail rig, 24 + 36 HP
Torqeedo outboard
1938 Sachs-Fichtel seitenbordmotor

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:56 am 
forum fanatic

Hello "g"