Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:52 pm 
faltbootemeister

Part 1 of 3

This past winter Ann and I took a three-week South Florida sailing trip in two Folbot GIIs. Ann has done this a lot. I'm a relative newbie. No fresh water available meant carrying many gallons with us. The GII payload handles all of this gear and water quite nicely. Balogh Sail Rigs with 32 square foot double-reef sails ease the task of moving these heavily laden barges.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Klepper: AEI - Jonathan Waterman's boat
Hardshells x6

Last edited by RangerTim on Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:56 pm 
lord high faltbotmeister

Thanks for sharing that TIm. Looks like you guys were ready to find the Northwest passage with those rigs! Please tell us where you ventured? I am headed off on my 4th Keys trip late this October and am already stoked! Very tame trip planned, just a week down the water trail to Bahia Honda. There is nothing like that part of the world, imo.

Best,
g

1990's A1 Expedition
2010 Klepper Quattro
Kayaksailer
Balogh sail rig, 24 + 36 HP
Torqeedo outboard
1938 Sachs-Fichtel seitenbordmotor

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:14 pm 
faltbootemeister

Part 2 of 3

Reaching Paradise is the goal. Sometimes, though, Paradise is out of reach. A site is already occupied, Weather or health may curtail progress. In the land of no land, mangrove islands look inviting but may offer no place to put ashore. Ann came up with a solution--sleeping on board at anchor.

One must be protected from weather and bugs. Ann has come up with a shelter that works nicely. I thought some people might be interested in trying this, so instructions follow.