Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:14 pm 
I've been restoring an ancient Pouch RZ85 folder, but feel that the lack of any reserve buoyancy is an issue, at least for the moment. I'm new to kayaking and wanted to get on the water so, after more research, I settled on an inflatable and purchased an Advanced Elements Advanced Frame Sport Kayak.

It's a single, so I took it out for the first time in the company of a kayaking friend on a local lake here in Brittany. The Sport was very easy to inflate with the AE double-action pump and the pressure gauge made correct inflation levels simple. Inflation only took 5 minutes. We spent 2 hours on the water, and the Sport handled beautifully, even for a novice like me. It's sturdy, stable and satisfying to paddle. I'm now totally hooked on kayaking.

However, I'm a bit confused by some of the comments on this forum in relation to AE Convertible's poor tracking. Bearing in mind that the Sport is shorter than the Convertible, I nevertheless found that the Sport tracked well, even without the much-mentioned backbone. The lake was a fair size with a bit of wind, but none of this had any effect on the way the Sport moved through the water - I could go where I liked. I weigh about 82 kg (180 lbs), so I'm not light - does this improve the tracking?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:11 pm