Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:21 pm 
recent arrival

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner and I just purchased my first inflatable kayak. I did not want to spend much on my first kayak, so I bought a used Sevylor Tahiti Professional kayak. After taking it out a few times, it developed a pinhole leak, so I went down to Potomac Paddlesports (a local kayak specialty shop) and bought a PVC inflatable boat repair kit. Then I applied the patch and the adhesive per the instructions. I waited. Suddenly instead of a pinhole leak, I now have a huge bulge from that area.

When I deflated the boat, the patch had pulled loose, presumably because of the stretching of that area from the bulge. So I removed it and inflated it again. But only part way. The big bulge is still there and the area actually does feel thinner when I touch it.

Does anyone have any idea what happened? It's a PVC boat. It's a PVC patch kit. The adhesive is specifically labelled "adhesive for PVC boat repair." I can't imagine why a PVC patch on a PVC boat would cause something like this!

Thanks in advance!

Angie

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:33 am 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle

Might be a cheap or defective patch. Try a different brand. Check at West Marine

Northwest Sportee (SuperBoat)
Innova Safari
Mariner I
Feathercraft Java
Nautiraid 14
Innova Sunny
Feathercraft K-Light

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:41 am 
recent arrival

Thank you. But just to be clear, it is not the patch that is bulging. It's the hull of the kayak under the patch.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:03 am 
forum fanatic