Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:51 pm 
Hi. I have been wanting a kayak for years, but have no place to put one, then a six months ago I discovered folding kayaks and really want to get one. I am a graduate student and have a family, so money is a huge issue, but I plan on having this kayak for a long time, so durability is very important as well. I am thinking I would like to get a used double, probably a Greenland II. All of the forums I've read suggest that there were various issues before, but most that they have been fixed in newer models. Were these changes gradual or was there one year when the design was totally overhauled. What year? It seems like the few I have seen are 5-7 years old, so 2001-2003. How big of a difference is it? Is it worth it to get a new one?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:03 pm 
Site Admin

The changes were gradual. I owned a 1996 model which I upgraded as time went on. Sold it in 2001, I think. Any boat after about 1994 or 1995 should be a good craft, if it has not been abused. Abuse usually takes the form of overloading the frame and results in popped rivets. Or, dragging the hull over sharp objects. Both are fixable, but probably not worth it unless you get help and are good with tools.

The two major upgrades are substitution of aluminum washboards for the plastic ones (2000), and phaseout of the older filled polycarbonate frames for tubular aluminum ones (2003 or 2004?). The first one is worth having; the second, not so much. Aluminum frames are better and lighter, but in a G II, they do not make as much difference as in the singles from Folbot. Aluminum washboards strengthen and stiffen the boat.