Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:28 pm 
I'm planning a solo trip in my aging Klepper Aerius 1 down the 1000 mile length of the Mackenzie River next summer. I'd like to buy a Kayaksailor rig for the trip. Dumping a fully-loaded boat while alone on the Mackenzie River might be the last mistake I ever make. Would this rig afford enough stability on its own or should I add outriggers such as those sold by Folbot ($250). FYI I have lots of paddling experience but limited sailing experience and none at all with the Kayaksailor which looks to me, to be an elegant sailing rig. Many thanks for shoring your expertise.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:43 am 
Site Admin

If you're looking for expedition-quality outriggers (and sails) take a look at BSD- Balogh Sail Designs (http://www.baloghsaildesigns.com). This is expedition tested gear. The Folbot outriggers are good, but they're not in the same category.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:43 pm 
I've heard lots about the Balogh rig. Looks great but it's very pricey. Company seems to have had some admin problems too. I don't know much about the stability of these setups. Do I need outriggers with the Kayaksailor on an Aerius 1 on a solo big-river expedition or is this rig and boat stable enough on its own in light to medium winds. Thanks.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:35 pm 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle

Hi Douglas.

I think the Kayaksailor is a very stable rig. I have sailed it with my Klepper AII and my Long Haul Ute (without a rudder). Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to sail it with my T9 which would be closest to your AI. It's a very efficient yet forgiving sail in my opinion. If you are an experienced kayaker I don't think you will feel the need for outriggers unless the conditions became pretty nasty - in which case you can lower or reef the sail.